Is It Fireworks Time Again? Already?

It feels like the warm weather just got here. And the 4th of July is a ways off. But according to Michigan state law, fireworks season begins Memorial Day weekend.

97.5 NOW FM logo
Get our free mobile app

Honestly, it wouldn't be so bad if folks followed the law and were respectful to others. I mean I can live with the proposed 11:45 pm curfew. I'd even be fine with you going up to midnight. I get it.

But you know people will be out in the streets shooting things off until almost 2 in the morning because they have no concept of common sense, courtesy, and just plain don't care.

"It's my right as an American to shoot off the Sky Terrorizer Mega McBoom Boom 12,000 all night long if I want to".

Don't know if that's the real name of a particular firework but I feel someone should get to work on one if it doesn't exist.

Meanwhile my dog is petrified and I have to go to work. But my rights be damned as long as you and the kiddos get to light up the sky and the neighborhood until the wee hours of the morning right boss?

Let's take a look at the law that Neighbor Jerry will be ignoring and how you can call the cops but it might not do any good.

Michigan Fireworks Laws for the Masses To Ignore

Even if a local government chooses to restrict fireworks in their municipality by passing a local ordinance, state law requires that fireworks must be allowed on the following days, after 11:00 a.m.:


  • December 31 until 1:00 a.m. on January 1

  • The Saturday and Sunday before Memorial Day, until 11:45 p.m.

  • June 29 to July 4, until 11:45 p.m.

  • July 5, if it falls on a Friday or Saturday, until 11:45 p.m.

  • The Saturday and Sunday before Labor Day, until 11:45 p.m.

  • (

So headed into Memorial Day weekend Friday is out, Saturday and Sunday are fair game until 11:45 pm, and Monday is out.

Is there a fine for violating the law? Oh yeah.

The amended state law also stipulates that violations of a local ordinance can result in a $1,000 civil fine.

But will they enforce it? Depends.

Fireworks aren’t allowed to be shot off from the street, or at 2 a.m. at any time in the state. Lansing police said officers do ticket people, but only if the person complaining knows where the fireworks are coming from. (WILX)

And according to the video below call the police non-emergency number not 9-1-1 to report fireworks offenders. Also with that thousand dollar fine, the local police get $500 bucks of that so they might be more prone to enforce it.

I'm counting on my melatonin and noise cancelling headphones.

Fix it Jesus.

SEE MORE: Amazing Fireworks Displays From Around The World

MORE: The Ten Most Beautiful Campgrounds in Michigan



More From 97.5 NOW FM