Y'all done made Big Gretch mad.

The governor has decided to step things up when it comes to coronavirus and wearing a mask.


Governor Gretchen Whitmer signed executive order 2020-147, which reiterates that individuals are required to wear a face covering whenever they are in an indoor public space. It also requires the use of face coverings in crowded outdoor spaces.


Under the governor’s order, businesses that are open to the public must refuse entry and service to individuals who fail to comply, and must post signs at all entrances instructing customers of their legal obligation to wear a face covering while inside. (Michigan.gov)

And here comes the BIG TICKET ITEM.

It all starts Monday, July 13th

Willful failure to abide by this order will result in a misdemeanor charge and subject to a $500 criminal penalty, but no jail time. (Michigan.gov)

$500 bucks!?! Pretty steep right? Well, you know what to do to avoid that.

Here's how our no mask fine compares to cities around the country & the world.


  • Under a new resolution passed by Austin City Council members, anyone caught in public not wearing a mask in Austin can be fined up to $2,000. (Austin Statesman)
  • Cuyahoga County officials: violating state mask order is a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by 90 days in jail and $750 fine. (Fox 8 News)
  • Ottawa bylaw officers could soon be given the power to issue fines of up to $400 to people who aren't wearing masks in indoor public spaces. (CBC)
  • On April 26, Qatar made mask wearing compulsory with fines of up to $55,000 for violators.  (Aljazeera)
97.5 NOW FM logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Coronavirus Face Masks From Around the World - The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

More From 97.5 NOW FM