Is There A Legal Age Limit For Trick or Treating in Michigan?
Growing up, you always anticipate the dreaded day you will have to stop trick or treating.
However, I beg the differ. Who made the rule that there is an age limit on whether or not you can go trick or treating if you want?
There are places that have bans and age limits on who can and cannot go trick or treating.
For instance, in the city of Chesapeake, Virginia, kids who are 13 years old or older, are literally restricted from going door to door for candy. If the teens are caught, according to WZZM13, they could be found
guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than $25 nor more than $100 or by confinement in jail for not more than six months or both.
A town in Canada recently announced that they are banning trick or treating for anyone older than 16 years old. If anyone breaks that rule, there is a $200 fine that has to be paid.
Is there something like that here in Michigan? Is there an age restriction on who can and cannot go trick or treating?
As of now, there is not any age restriction on who can and cannot go trick or treating throughout the state of Michigan.
However, I know this is a murmur of conversation about whether there should be or not.
When you visit people's homes that night, they do have the ability to turn you away if they do not want to give you candy for being "too old."
According to a poll that was conducted by ClickOnDetroit,
Most Insiders said that children aged 14 or 15 years old have reached the threshold of "too old" to go trick-or-treating. Out of more than 1,650 responses, 26% agreed on this age group as the end of the road for candy handouts on Halloween night.
Well as a 25-year-old, I beg to differ. Who doesn't love free candy? If you see me around these Grand Rapids streets as a trick-or-treater, just let me slide. Please.