Michigan’s Move Over Law Goes Into Effect
If they've got someone pulled over, you need to move over.
There is/was a law already in effect. But now, it gets stricter and the tickets and fines go up. Plus, increased enforcement. All for the safety of our public service workers and more.
Here's the breakdown.
Starting Wednesday (TODAY)
- Michigan drivers have to move over and slow for vehicles that are parked on the side of the road with their lights flashing.
- Obviously for police and emergency vehicles (lights flashing - move it over).
- This includes garbage trucks and tow trucks.
- Utility/maintenance vehicles (again, if they are on the side of the road with lights flashing, move over)
- If you break the law, you get PULLED OVER and you get a ticket. Fines start at $400.
Michigan's "Move Over Law" requires drivers to slow down when passing police cars, ambulances, and firetrucks that are stopped on the side of the road.
The law signed last November by former Governor Rick Snyder also requires drivers to slow down by at least 10 miles per hour below the posted speed limit, as well as moving over a lane if possible.(Source/Credit: WILX)
State law requires drivers approaching a stationary emergency vehicle displaying flashing lights, including towing and recovery vehicles, traveling in the same direction, to vacate the lane closest if safe and possible to do so, or to slow to a speed safe for weather, road and traffic conditions. (AAA)