Eyes down, mind focused on your screen, disconnected or even completely unaware of your surroundings; this is the offense some lawmakers are saying is no longer acceptable.

Some states are looking to put laws on the books that would make texting and walking a crime, WLNS-TV reports.

Michigan isn't mentioned in the article, but it's not too far-fetched to imagine legislators here taking interest in following the lead of states like Massachusetts or New Jersey, where violators could face fines and even jail time.

Former Governor Jennifer Granholm signed Michigan's texting and driving ban into law six years ago.  The first offense is a $100 fine.  Repeat offenses are $200.

Are the proposed punishments for texting and walking in New Jersey extreme?  Should the punishment for texting and driving in Michigan be more steep?  Weigh in below!