If you have to run to the store or there is an emergency, at what age is it legal in the state of Michigan to leave your child at home alone by themselves?

Get our free mobile app

Being a Parent

romrodinka/ThinkStock/GettyStock
romrodinka/ThinkStock/GettyStock
loading...

Being a parent in general can be a tough job at times and even more so being a single parent, especially in times of emergency.

shutter_m/ThinkStock/GettyStock
shutter_m/ThinkStock/GettyStock
loading...

There are times when you may need to go to the store for a five-minute trip and your child is dirty and you don't have time to clean them up or get them dressed again. You trust and know your child and know they have a way to contact you and are safe with the doors locked, how old should they be before leaving them home alone?

How Old Should a Child Be When Leaving Them Home Alone?

Anadolu Agency via Getty Images
Anadolu Agency via Getty Images
loading...

I'm not talking like in the movie Home Alone where actor Macauly Culkin played the 10-year-old boy whose parents left him in the house alone for a few days. I'm also not talking about leaving your kid at home while you are out drinking. I'm talking about a quick run to the store or over to a neighbor's house for a few minutes.

Getty Images/Johner RF
Getty Images/Johner RF
loading...

According to Michigan.gov, a parent needs to make sure their child is mature enough and shows the skills that it takes to handle a situation safely.

Unfortunately, kids mature at different ages so it's hard to pinpoint an actual age number and not base your decision on that alone. If he or she has previously demonstrated responsible behavior, makes good decisions, and feels comfortable about being alone

At What Age Can a Child Can Be Left Home Alone in Michigan?

Catherine Delahaye/Getty Images
Catherine Delahaye/Getty Images
loading...

It turns out there are only two states that have a law regarding how old a child should be when leaving them home alone and those states are Illinois and Maryland. The state of Illinois says a child should be at least 14 years of age. In Maryland, it's a crime to leave any child under the age of 8 home alone.

Mlyons/Getty Images/iStockphoto
Mlyons/Getty Images/iStockphoto
loading...

In Michigan, there is no law that states what age a child can be left home alone. Although Child Protective Services recommends the child to be 10 years old.

SWEET: Here are the most popular Halloween candies

LOOK: Here are 25 ways you could start saving money today

These money-saving tips—from finding discounts to simple changes to your daily habits—can come in handy whether you have a specific savings goal, want to stash away cash for retirement, or just want to pinch pennies. It’s never too late to be more financially savvy. Read on to learn more about how you can start saving now. [From: 25 ways you could be saving money today]

More From 97.5 NOW FM