Don’t Look at Your Phone While Driving or Get Ticketed
If you have one eye on the road and one eye on your phone, you will want to stop doing that for now on as lawmakers here are proposing to make Michigan the 15th state to ban driving while on the phone.
Nearly 12,800 crashes in Michigan last year involved distracted driving, a 70 percent spike from 2015, and double from 2014.
According to the Associated Press, the fine for an 1st violation would jump from $100 to $250. A 2nd violation would cost the driver $500 instead of $200 and add a point to their license. A 3rd infraction would give you two points.
The new ban would apply regardless of whether a motorist is stopped at a traffic light. The law now prohibits texting while driving that is moving on a highway or street.